Why Complicate Things?

Leave a comment

February 19, 2016 by Mindgobble

love-is-complicated

As far as matters of the heart are concerned, I think I am the poster girl of FAIL.

About a week and a half ago my guy friend decided that he should take it upon himself to try and play the matchmaker and find me a nice guy. Lets have a quick rewind so that I can fill you in on my abysmal dating history…

I had my first “proper” boyfriend in Grade 9 – when I was 15. Chris was amazing and we dated for about 9 months. Reason for the break up was that he lived a bit far away and we tended to argue over the stupidest things. This is likely due to the fact that I didn’t get to see too much of him. But he was attractive, fun, intelligent and older than me, which is what made it exciting I guess. (When you are in school, it is always exciting to date an older guy). Needless to say, the breakup left me heartbroken but I picked myself up and moved along.
holding-hands-facebook-cover-timeline-banner-for-fb

Next up was Jordan, the “high school sweetheart”. We dated for a long ass time! Just under 4 years. This was from Grade 10 until first year varsity. He embodied some of the things that I needed in my life at the time – badass cool guy with a reputation for breaking all the rules. The first 2 years were great, but then I started to lose interest and felt too bad to break his heart which is why the whole thing dragged out much, much longer than it should have. But you know how these things go… I loved his family and had made friends with his friends, etc, etc. This was a super messy breakup situation but one which was long overdue.

images

Yep, he sure like to think he was a gangster…

Onto the next Chris, the “in between guy”… He went to varsity with me, and was part of the friend group. He was much more interested in messing around and I found myself chasing him in the hopes that he would be with me. Bad idea Batman! This chase lasted a few months and was part of the rebound from Jordan. During this time my liver took serious strain with all the partying and late night expeditions. It was a wild few months and I have no idea how I passed all my subjects at the time.

200310923-001

This is what happened on occasion during my lectures… (not some of my proudest moments)

I then met Simon on a family expedition. Turns out he was the son of one of my Dad’s friends. Simon was great and we lasted about 8 months. It started out all rainbows and roses but again, I lost interest and due to the fact that he lived really far from me, the distance got the better of us. My weekends were too busy with horse shows and this meant that he usually had to come to me which he started getting “funny” about. Couldn’t really blame the guy but decided it would be best to cut the ties again…

fbc61f1bfe794cfbf30d024bd942d552

Am I starting to sound like a bad person yet? Because I sure feel like one…

After Simon came Carl (2 years later – because it took that long for me to be interested in the hassles of being with someone again!) I met Carl on Tinder (OMG right?) and despite my better judgement I agreed to see him again after the first coffee date. When it doesn’t feel quite right, you should listen to your gut… But it had been 2 years and I thought I was just being silly… I mean he was a nice guy after all. To cut the long story short, we dated for 4 months and in the end I literally couldn’t stand him any longer. He just rubbed me up the wrong way and was not the sharpest tool in the shed. (Yes, again… I am a horrible person)
58324747

And here I am after this sad story and all that I can do is tell you how it gets sadder yet…

Back to my friend trying to play cupid the matchmaker… Bryce just out of the blue creates a Watsapp group and adds myself and his friend Kevin. He says “Jade meet Kevin.. Kevin meet Jade”. Followed by “Kevin is a great guy who is down to earth and full of jokes, loves to fish and is a medical rep”. So I am immediately thinking oh no how can Bryce do this because I don’t even know what this guy looks like or whether he has a half a brain cell or not…

Again… To cut a long story short, I start speaking to Kevin and I check to see what he looks like on Facebook… Surprise! He is really good looking, funny, smart, and all of the other things I would look for in my ideal guy. But Murphy’s law would ensure that I can’t have what I want so easily… Kevin is as cryptic as a crab and I don’t know up from down with him. We chat a fair amount, and we had a “double date” with Bryce and his girlfriend (which Kevin followed me halfway home from which is surely a good sign?)… But aside from that… well… not much. This week I got impatient and just asked him out to dinner which he agreed to do next week because he has been on conference this week. But I am not getting the vibe that he is anywhere as keen as I am…

If this Kevin thing doesn’t work out then I guess I shouldn’t be too surprised. I mean it is probably just karma for all the times I couldn’t follow through on a relationship in the past. Trouble is that I am not getting any younger and when all of your friends are getting married and having babies, things become a bit scary in a “everyone is moving on with their lives and you are trapped in a downward spiral” kind of way.

Why can’t everyone just cut the crap and be straight up with each other? OWN IT!

bbbb6b7d45003e0d12906cae1b11cf7f

This is where I am right now… He would be worth the wait, but I don’t want to wait for nothing…

I read a really great post today which kind of helped me to feel a bit better though. So if you have a moment, this is really worth a read:

To Anyone Who Thinks They’re Falling Behind In Life

 

Leave a comment